GMANEWS.TV - Senate commends Smart Gilas after bagging Jones Cup title - Rouchelle Dinglasan

The Senate on Tuesday moved to commend the Philippine men's basketball national team, Smart Gilas II, for winning the 34th William Jones Cup in Taipei, Taiwan last month.

The Senate adopted Senate Resolution No. 127, which was introduced by Senators Pia Cayetano, Sonny Trillanes, Lito Lapid and Koko Pimentel, commending the Gilas team.

“The Philippine team in winning the William Jones Cup in Taiwan marks the resurgence of Philippine basketball and reclaims the country's stature as a dominant force in Asian basketball,” the resolution read.

"The Philippine team sealed the country's fourth Championship win since 1998, after beating the powerhouse and crowd favorite USA Team, 76-75, and finished with seven wins against a lone setback in ruling one of the most popular cage events in the region," Trillanes said in his sponsorship speech.

Led by its Most Valuable Player LA Tenorio, the Smart Gilas Pilipinas team won over the US Select Team on August 26, bagging the Jones Cup title.

The resolution congratulated Coach Chot Reyes and the members of the national basketball team, namely Enrico Villanueva (Barangay Ginebra), Gabe Norwood (Rain or Shine), Gary David (Powerade), Jeff Chan (Rain or Shine), LA Tenorio (Alaska), Larry Fonacier (Talk N Text), Mac Baracael (Alaska), Ranidel De Ocampo (Talk N Text), Sol Mercado (Meralco) and Sonny Thoss (Alaska); naturalized player Marcus Douthit, non-pros Fil-Am Matt Rosser and San Beda College graduate Garvo Lanete.
The Ron Jacobs-coached Northern Consolidated Cement first won the title in 1981 and regained the cup in 1998 through the Philippine Centennial team, which was made up mostly of Philippine Basketball Association stars. San Miguel Beer was the other Philippine team that won the Jones Cup in 1985.